Theatre Students Win Regional Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival Awards

Lissa Diaz

Nineteen students and four faculty and staff members from the Bethel University Theatre Department recently traveled to the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) Region 3 in Madison, Wisc., where they presented their work, saw shows, made connections in the field of theatre, attended workshops, stage managed events, and volunteered.

Numerous students received awards while attending the KCACTF for Region 3.

Stephen White won the Musical Theatre Intensive and will be representing Region 3 at the national festival in April at the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C. He also received a week of training at Open Jar in New York City this summer. He is Bethel’s first student to compete at nationals in Washington D.C.

White and Hope Nofziger participated in a program called Next Steps that allowed them to audition for casting directors and theatre companies. Both received callbacks and White received a job offer.

Levi Lamberjack and his team won Design Storm. Design storm was comprised of several teams of students from different schools that are given a play and three days to put together a collaborative, cohesive design and then present the designs to a panel of judges. This is Bethel’s second consecutive year winning this event.

Matthew Anderson received an Honorable Mention for his regional sound design.

Megan McGehee and her scene partner Gabby Perkins were one of 48 semi-finalists in the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship.

Faculty and staff also volunteered at the festival. Don Hunter, MFA, Assistant Professor of Theatre, along with Deb Swerman, MFA, Assistant Professor of Theatre, and Sarah Bussard responded to regional design projects. Hunter also served as a faculty respondent for load-in and out between shows. Swerman served as a faculty respondent for the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship. Walter McCutcheon was a guest workshop presenter, leading three workshops for three days to over 150 students and faculty.

  • main
  • recent